100% Custom Recommendations

So I am new to the whole custom keyboard scene. I just built a GMMK Pro for myself and am looking to get my girl into this. She needs a 100% because she does data entry and likes the space that comes with a 100%. I’ve been searching around and just about every site I have looked at, the boards are out of stock. So any recommendations would be appreciated. I showed her the regular GMMK, but she wasn’t a fan of it, aesthetically.

Custom 100% get pricey fast. It is just that much more board and aluminum.

You might look into “1800 layouts” too. One board I can think of that is coming up is - https://kbdfans.com/collections/interest-checks/products/ic-kbdfans-d1000-mechaincal-keyboard

3 Likes

What about a 65% or TKL with separate numpad? Aesthetically, it’s super classy and I’ve read having your mouse in-between the keyboard and numpad has certain ergonomic and workflow benefits.

https://www.keebtalk.com/t/what-is-on-your-desk-today/2238/2728

If not, I might consider the Keychron C2 when they restock.

5 Likes

If aesthetics are high on the priority list then, possibly the the Heavy-9: aftermarket upgrade housing for the Leopold FC980C keyboard – Norbauer & Co.

• the Leopold board.

do you both already have an idea of what kind of switch/weight/typing experience she likes? would she be the type to really get into the aesthetics (external) or would she potentially be interested in the internals/nitty gritty of assembling, soldering, modifying a board and moving deeper into the hobby?