A rushed forum, my opinion and efforts prior to the launch of keebtalk

Disclaimer: I am not AGAINST keebtalk outright. I am unhappy with its method of inception, and skeptical of its longevity and motivations. I love what all involved parties do on their own, and they do great work.

Here’s my background. I’ve been in the keyboard community for a couple years, not long I know. But I’ve been very active. I have 5 years experience as a web developer, web designer, and 1 yr experience as a product manager. I was mostly active on reddit, with some participation on discord and geekhack.

Before the launch of KeebTalk and after the announcement MD bought geekhack, I posted on geekhack, reddit, and discord, that I was primarily trying to keep the community from splintering by starting a bunch of mediocre forums. So I started a discord server for all people interested in starting their own forum to collaborate and work together to launch the best product for the community. I am not trying to benefit. I am simply trying to help build a specifically community first forum. The goal of our discussion was NOT to create a forum for people to move to NOW, but to be prepared if MassDrop did mess GeekHack up. I am also personally very skeptical of MassDrop for several reasons.

We have been actively discussing it for the last few days. That discussion can be found here: New MechKeebs Forum?

Here’s my opinion on KeebTalk

The biggest issue is that they did not choose the best platform. They jumped on the easiest platform (Discourse) because it was the quickest to set up and had some nice features.

They did this because they were worried about getting the traction of people who were upset with geekhack. And my opinion on this is that anyone who was worried about traction is doing it for the wrong reasons.