Could long term PTFE lube exposure be a health risk?

This might sound silly to some of you, they might be completely safe to eat, I just have no idea and I was wondering if anyone here had some good information about PTFE lubes and toxicity or health risks.

I was lubing the other day and I realised it is very difficult not to get small quantities of lube in your hands, and some of that to end up everywhere really :smiley: these lubes are very hard to really get rid of, almost like they were designed for that! :thinking:

Iā€™m sure very small, occasional exposure is fine, but as keyboard enthusiasts, if we are lubing all the time, I was wondering if the exposure could build up and end up being bad for our health.

I think one of the reasons I was thinking about this is because I did a photography degree and I met people with health problems caused by the chemicals that were used to develop traditional film photography, but I guess those were quite strong stuff (especially de color photography ones).

Any thoughts or info anyone?

7 Likes

Iā€™m pretty sure ptfe lubes are fine to touch forever lol Iā€™m trying to gather safety data sheets for commonly used keyboard chemicals if those help you out! AZsKBs ā€” Keyboard Chemistry

2 Likes

hahaha, yeah not worried about touching the lube, I meant the small quantities that most likely we end up ingesting since itā€™s so difficult to get rid of them properly.
I know it would be really small, but I was curious how serious I should be about washing my hands before eating and stuffā€¦

1 Like

Iā€™d be interested in any info you find. For the past year Iā€™ve been trying my best to clean up all areas where switch lube has been (often the kitchen counter and dining table) with isopropyl to remove every last spec of lube. Too bad that food prep and eating areas usually turn out to be some of the best spaces for working on switches in my house. Ha.

1 Like