Gamers Assemble!

Hiya guys!
I am new to the custom mechanical keyboard world and looking to learn and discuss.

So while browsing the forum, I noticed that there aren’t many pure gaming oriented thoughts and discussions. So what do you guys prefer on your boards for gaming? Why do you prefer that? Just looking to start a thread that might turn into something interesting.

4 Likes

I would hardly call my self a gamer, I feel like the term “gamer” carries a lot of baggage these days, and I find a lot of “gamer stuff” (media, culture, etc) to be pretty insufferable anymore, but I gamed a lot in college and still play a bit of league of legends and occasionally whatever the flavor of the month battle royale game is. For those I pretty much prefer the same as ever, linear switches, although I find a lighter weight to be nice. I’ve got a Mekanisk Type X built up with lubed and filmed yellow ink switches with an mkultra foam and I’ve really enjoyed using that for playing games lately. I’m still on the fence about the shorter travel switches, but I’ve been enjoying them. I have no preference on size, but I remember being pissed off that cities skylines wanted page up and page down keys because at the time I didn’t have a keyboard that had those.

1 Like

Ah I understand the over-hyped term but I still tend to categorize even casual have-fun game loving people as gamers :slight_smile:

I generally love FPS games, and have been thinking of Gateron blacks because I don’t really care for the tactility as much as I care about the feel of a satisfying thonk as you let the emotions out into the key press.

Hi! I play FPS a lot. I think the “gaming” switches concept is based solely on assumptions while in fact it is simply a personal preference, just like with anything - use whatever your fingers/ears like more. A linear switch on a spacebar is a must have for me though.