How do you guys trust people on mechmarket

I just traded boards with a guy on r/mm and it was a pretty bad experience. He was really bad with messaging so I thought he scammed me at first. I finally got the board he sent out to me (hhkb) and it is not working at all. Usually, my experience with r/mm is good but not this time I guess.

So I was wondering what you guys do to “trust” people on r/mm? Do you just trust everyone in the community? Or do you have something you look at for when you are on r/mm?

3 Likes

I’m actually new to r/mm and having the package checked properly is difficult for me since I’ll have it shipped to my US proxy address. To answer your question, I’d go stalking their profile and # of trades, if they seemed to be a douche(at my preference) on discussion about mechanical keyboard sudreddit, I won’t even start a pm on their post. Checking their posts and replies somewhat provide me information that they’re known among the in the r/mm or mechanical keyboard. So far, my best experience was when I badly needed an AEK and paid not via paypal with no possible way of disputing it or refund - my three days stalking on his reddit actually is aligned with great experience dealing with him.

I do all my trading/ buying and selling in Geekhack and have not done any via r/mm. I find that r/mm is very daunting - too many people I don’t know and too many listings and it is a recipe of a disaster … I’d rather stick to smaller community and it is easier to get to know someone that way.

I no longer trade on r/mm due to a small percentage of untrustworthy buyers/sellers who really spoil it for everyone.

My worst experience was selling quite an expensive board which was tested and working 100%. The buyer then claimed it was faulty due to a software/driver issue with their computer and wanted to keep the board, while also receiving a full refund.