[IC] Conic Keyboard - Budget 50% Ortho

Interest check form:

Hi! I run the shop KeyPCB, where I make PCBs for people. This is my first time doing a group buy/interest check. Luckily, this is fairly simple, so there shouldn’t be too many problems.

The Conic keyboard has a layout inspired by keyboards such as Preonic and JJ50. It aims to deliver a good quality but affordable keyboard. The target price is around 15-20 dollars for the PCB. It supports Alps and MX switches and uses a Pro Micro as the controller.

The group buy will start once I hit 20 people interested, but I might do it anyway even if there are less people, there might just not be as many options.

Here are some pictures of the PCB:

6 Likes

No problem with the idea (low-cost ortho ftw), but please choose a different name! Definitely too similar to the Preonic.

3 Likes

Any chance for two 2u keys for spacebars?

1 Like

Thanks for letting me know. I tried to choose a name that was different enough from the preonic’s name, but now that I look back on it, I can see the similarity. Would I be able to say in the group buy that this was formerly called Conic so people who did the interest check could see that this is the product they said they were interested in?

1 Like

I’ll try to add that, I’m not sure how easy it will be since I already designed the PCB.

1 Like

I don’t really see how they’re similar? I mean barring a slight similarity in the pronunciation of the latter half of the word and that written they both end in onic. But. A name change? Why?

7 Likes

I agree.

Another crazy over extension of protecting your trademark. Going to make a big public threat again of slamming them with your lawyers?

5 Likes

Also, sorry forgot to comment on the board! I’m not an ortho user personally but an affordable ortho PCB at an unconventional form factor seems like a great idea, good work.

1 Like

I recommend renaming it to the JackHumbertonic as there is no trademark for that

5 Likes