• 4.75mm integrated switch plate
  • Inner alphas rotated inward at 8deg
  • 3 indicator LEDs
  • All aluminum, 2-part case. anodized
  • Hotswap via Kailh sockets
  • USB-C
  • QMK

Update 3/20/2019:

Here is the first picture of the case samples. Hopefully I have them in hand sometime next week and I can get more pictures.

Update 1/14/2019:

Received prototype PCBs. All is good and working

Update 12/22/2018:

Changes:

• added USB-C
  • split backspace only
  • 2u and 2.25u spacebars
  • moved indicator LEDs to upper right corner

Here are some CAD views of what is more or less final. Things such as rounded corners could change based on feedback. Getting hardware of some form in hand mid January

ignore the missing enter footprint :-[

Outdated Content:

Summary

After seeing the TGR Alice and subsequently not getting in on the GB, I decided to design something similar but in 45% form factor. I have been using it as a daily driver for several months now and absolutely love it.

Enter Prime_E, a 45% ergo design. Or at least a proposal and looking for feedback so I can produce a keyboard that appeals to a larger group and works with a wider range of keycap sets. Even if it means starting over.

I was at about 90% done with the project. Both case and PCB. But couldn’t decide on a final layout. Particularly the bottom row and right-side modifiers.

Design Features:

• 4.75mm integrated switch plate
  • Inner alphas rotated inward at 8deg
  • 7deg incline
  • 3 indicator LEDs
  • All aluminum, 2-part case
  • Hotswap via Kailh sockets

Case assembly:

Bottom view of top part showing thick integrated plate with provisions so switches can snap in:

Layout ideas:

Initial design. Fine for DSA. Not so fine for sculpted. Issues: 2x 2u spacebars. R2 2u backspace doesn’t exist in sculpted sets, I think

Split backspace and 2.0/2.25u spacebars should expand compatibility with more sculpted sets. 1.25u mods in lower right instead of 1.5u.