Introduction, first mod, and in need of help

Hello everyone! i’m really new to mechanical keyboard but recently i just finished my first major keyboard mod, here it is

It;s a Daxa M71 Classic, a fairly popular board in Indonesia with Gateron Yellow KS3X47 (over)lubed and filmed, plus sandwich acrylic case plus lubed and holee modded stabs, though it is not perfect, i’m fairly proud of it! What do you guys think?

You guys might notice that the keycaps are skewed and you’re correct, do you guys know what might cause this? because i’m not entirely sure if it’s the switches or the plate, i did went a bit rough when trying to put the switches back to the board and plate.

Any feedback is appreciated :smiley:

5 Likes

Hello and welcome! It looks like an excellent first build! Based on what you’re saying and some quick googling, it looks like this is a hotswap board. Is that correct? If that’s the case, I think the biggest things to first check would be that everything is fully seated. It sounds like some of the switches were maybe a bit difficult to get into the plate and hotswap socket so that may be a contributing factor. Another big thing I’d check is making sure that all of the keycaps are fully seated on the switches themselves. I find that this is more prevalent with newer keycaps and switches - it can take some firm pressure to get them seated all the way when they’re brand new. This is especially true for your stabilized keys (like the spacebar) since there are three points of contact rather than the usual one.

Don’t press on anything with a crazy amount of force but I’ve had these things be problematic in the past. It’s just another part of learning - you’ll figure out what’s right!

2 Likes