Whats your typing speed?

I’ll start off: I use monkeytype and average around 85 WPM. Yesterday, I broke 100 with a score of 101 on 15 second.

What is your speed?

4 Likes

On average, around 130 WPM; peak is around 160 WPM in a 15 second window.

2 Likes

I used to think I could type fast, but then I started practicing will all ten and it turns out my tecnique is awful and my actual WPM is more like 40 - 50. Feels bad.

typing

4 Likes

My monkeytype scores:
english = 500000wpm
english1k = 2wpm

3 Likes

I average about 90 on just alphas, my quickest being around 108. Full sentences with punctuation I sit around 75. I’ve pretty much plateaued I think, been the same for a couple years 🤷

2 Likes

Took this right now, and I think this is about par for me (105–115).

I mostly do English quotes, like this, so I get punctuation, numbers, and capitalization. I keep Opposite Shift turned on and no backspacing. I almost always start making errors at the tail end as fatigue sets in :pensive:.

** I will add that I normally (outside of typing tests) type around ~80–90 because that’s a nice, leisurely pace and my accuracy is much higher. I rarely need to type at full speed.

2 Likes

Just breaking the 100wpm average mark recently!

3 Likes

Average for last year on monkey type was 98wpm. Usually get 100-113 when I tryhard. 125 is personal best on non-punctuation 60sec test.

3 Likes

Oh, average over a year is a much better measure. I’ll have to look at that in a few months.

2 Likes

I type about 65-75 wpm

2 Likes

My speed is set on slow.

3 Likes

On a good day:

This is the better side of how I do when I’m able to maintain my focus. Real-world and on-average, I’m probably closer to high 80’s - low 90’s.

Numbers and some symbols slow me down quite a bit, and as you might be able to see on the chart there, errors throw me for a loop and I take a moment to recover and get back in the flow. My most common error is an early space.