~40% ortho layout, but with dedicated number row?

First things first, I’m new to 40%, so this is a bit of a “zen mind, beginner’s mind” sort of post.

Along the lines of the posts Some ideas about sub-30% layouts involving the Enigma, pain27, Alpha and 30wer and Change My Mind: 40% layouts are insufficient for serious work - #52 by deacon, I’m wondering what changes to the standard “everything on a layer” might be doable, coming from a larger keyboard workflow.

I’m a bit intrigued by this zlant configuration with numbers on the bottom row flanking the space but I recognize that it sacrifices the raise/lower keys. I wonder if SpaceFN would be an appropriate substitute. My only other quibble with this layout is the lack of dedicated arrows (though again SpaceFN + vi keys could work) and the lack of control/option/command modifiers.

I’ve also considered putting the numbers on the top row and splitting the bottom alphas like this.

Thoughts, from a “here use this, it works for me” practical standpoint, or even a “theoretically, I think X” POV?

2 Likes

Interesting idea. Didn’t think of such a layout for my Zlant. Then again, I mostly have my Zlant, because I initally wanted to see how SA Vilebloom looks on the Zlant and hence I was quite restricted to the default Plank layout.

But there are only a few things I dislike with the Planck layout:

• arrow/cursor keys all in one row (HJKL style, but dedicated)
  • Tab key above Escape key.

The layout with the number row and (maybe) modifiers just on tap is a creative idea, but looks kinda unintuïtive to me. The »Didn’t have any appropriate keycap sets to put on it, so I’ll make due with xda minila.« sounds as if the keycaps shown do not match the actually used layout.