Saying hello after some time on read-only mode

Hey Keebtalk folks,

I’m a developer/designer/project manager currently living in Germany, after lurking for a while it’s time for me to say hi.

I’ve had a mechanical keyboard since February 2017, when I got a Cooler Master Masterkeys Pro L with Cherry Browns, and that was all for the longest time. I’ve always been interested in the customisation possibilities of mechkeyboards, but since I only used this keyboard with my (way too underused for the money I spent on it) gaming PC, I never really got into getting any nice keycap set or any other upgrade for it besides a single blue metallic Esc keycap, could not justify the expense for a few hours of use a month.

Cue March 2020, everyone at work gets the order to stop going to the office and work from home instead for the foreseeable future and I decide to give the good old Masterkeys a run for typing on it 8+ hours a day. It did not take long to realise:

1. I like a mechanical keyboard for typing much more than the Apple Magic Keyboard I had been using for the last few years (duh)

2. Cherry Browns are ok, but after reading a bit it is clear that there are now better options in the market, I want to explore some of those

3. A full-size keyboard is actually way too big for me, I don’t need so many keys, but I do need my arrow keys, so I settle for 65% as my ideal layout

4. The noise on that space bar! I need to do something about those stabs

5. I’m down the rabbit hole now and before I realise I have my first keyboard kit ordered

6. And I also have a few key set ideas that I would like to eventually bring to IC and hopefully GB if the reception is good, will also be a good opportunity to learn a bit of 3D with Blender

I got an order for a CU65 R2 (hopefully arriving November/December if all goes well), and a set of Infinikey Port to go with for the time being. Switches you say? Well, that’s the part I’m trying to get my head around.