Simply96, a personal keyboard project

Hello keeb lovers,

Late last year I lurked again on various forums talking about mechanical keyboards and discovered that a lot had changed (in a good way) since I purchased my daily drivers around 8 years ago.

I’m a happy owner of two Filcos and a Topre Realforce and use them everyday but with so much beautiful custom keyboards in the wild I told myself that I had to own one ( at least :wink: )

Moreover the nice part of a hobby is to learn new things so why not design and build my own from scratch?

• Do my own PCB design (I do have some previous amateur experience)
  • Do my own case design (I have no experience in CAD software and CNC manufacturing).

This will be fun :smiley:

Most of the enthusiast keyboards out there have small layouts.
One benefit is that it removes arm strain during prolonged typing and mouse usage.
As a software programmer one caveat to me is the lack of some keys: function keys are used a lot in professional tools and even on my TKL the lack of a keypad impacts my productivity.
Still want something a bit more compact though as my arms are beginning to hurt a bit at the end of the day.
I have to say that I’m a conservative old fart ( you made my day when you called me “Uncle Rico” @pixelpusher :smiley: ), breaking typing habits are getting difficult so learning new layouts being compact or worse ortholinear are out of the question: I want to use it at work and be productive very fast using it.
One accepted change is that, due to the lack of nice ISO/AZERTY keycaps, I will switch to US/ANSI layout.

I started some research to what would be the best keyboard layout for my usage and found that the TK layout was just perfect for me:

• It has a numpad.
  • Much closer to a standard ANSI/ISO layout than a 1800 layout.
  • Still significantly shorter than a full size keyboard.

Here are some links to known keyboards that used this layout already: